Friday, 29 June 2012

Review of SHADOW BOUND by Rachel Vincent


Title: SHADOW BOUND (Unbound #2)
Source: eARC via NetGalley
Publish Date: May 22nd 2012

*I hereby award this book 5 wings!*

I first heard about this book when I saw Rachel holding a giveaway of signed postcards on Twitter. I entered and was lucky enough to receive 20 of them. I was so excited, these cards were the first swag I had won. I was relatively new to blogging at the time. I knew I wanted to give them away (or 19 of them anyway). It was then that I decided I needed to read BLOOD BOUND (Unbound #1) and come up with a question for people to answer. This was to be my first giveaway and I was very excited. 

So anyway, I read BLOOD BOUND and fell in love with the way Rachel Vincent writes. She is a woman of great talent and if I could aspire to write like anyone, it would be her.  Why? Well you'll have to read her books to find out, but if you want to know what I thought of SHADOW BOUND, listen up!

Initially I had expected SHADOW BOUND to pick up where BLOOD BOUND left off (I won't re-hash that ending here in case you haven't read it for yourself). So it was a shock when I read the blurb and it said it wasn't about Olivia and Cam. This time it was about Kori and Ian.
At the end of BLOOD BOUND, I have to say I didn't like Kori Daniels. It wasn't a festering hate, but she had left me feeling like if I met her again, I wouldn't care if something bad happened to her.
So yet another shock came to me when I read her story and not only learned to like her, low and behold I actually felt real feelings for her. 

I can't tell you what Kori did to make me dislike her. If you've read BLOOD BOUND, I expect you know exactly what I am talking about - if you haven't, then you really need to go and read it. 
But I can tell you that Kori more than redeemed herself and not only did I actually have feelings for the girl in the end, I actually cried TWICE along the way. That was a shocker, let me tell you.

So what is this book all about?

Kori Daniels is a shadow walker. She works on the West side of town in the employ of Jake Tower. He is a pretty despicable man, sort of like a mob boss only, much worse. If you can't imagine anything worse than the typical mob boss, you haven't met Tower. He is indescribable. Mere words cannot make you understand what kind of power he holds and frequently wields over those who work for him.

Tower uses everyone in his employ for their Skills. He has people who can do any number of things. Kori's sister works for Tower. She is his Binder. One of the strongest Binders there is. Whether verbally or by blood, Kenley binds Tower's people to his service for the term of the contract, whether that be 5 years, 10 years etc. They end up with a tattooed mark on their arm that identifies them as Tower's staff and also makes people aware of where exactly they are in the chain of command, what their Skills are.

Kori was bound to Tower as his shadow walker and as part of his security team. But Kori is out of favour with Tower and now she is held in a cell in the basement. She is unable to shadow walk out because of the infra-red grid, making it so that there are no true shadows for Kori to put to use. 

Tower lets Kori out of the basement after 6 weeks. He has an assignment for her. She is to recruit Ian Holt. Ian is a powerful Blinder, he can draw shadows to him and create darkness. Needless to say this is a Skill that Tower would rather he could put to use than let his opponent, Reuben Cavazos get his hands on.
If Kori can't recruit him, she must bring him in so that his blood can be harvested. Tower will have Ian, one way or the other.

Upon meeting, Kori is instantly rude to Ian, it's in her nature to be more than a tad aggressive. So they are immediately on the back-foot. Something Tower makes Kori rectify because he won't have her tendency toward rudeness stand in the way of him acquiring Ian and his Skill. 

Kori is supposed to think of Ian as nothing more than a recruit and her only way to stay out of the basement that had been her own personal prison for the last 6 weeks. But with his good looks, charisma and witty banter, Ian is becoming harder to recruit. Kori knows what will happen to Ian if she doesn't manage to get him to sign with Tower. But she also knows what will happen to him if he does sign. So she's in a quandary and will tie herself up in knots trying to do the right thing.

But Ian has an ulterior motive for saying that he will sign with Tower's syndicate. He doesn't intend to sign with anyone, he wants to disappear off everyone's radar.  But there is something he must do fist. Kill Kenley Daniels.
Kenley bound Ian's brother Steven and he's dying because of a contract breach and no-one knows what to do. 
Ian's plan is to get into Tower's home and kill Kenley, thus unbinding everyone she ever bound. 

But Ian starts to rethink his plan when he's confronted with aggressive, obnoxious Kori. There's just something about the fact that she calls a spade, a spade. He likes her for the fact that she's all rough edges and sharp angles. She's infuriating, yes, but she's also pretty and funny. He gets through to the softer side I never thought Kori even possessed.

So it seems that both Kori and Ian have choices that they must face. What will the outcome be?

From beginning to end, I was sucked into SHADOW BOUND. The world is intricately crafted, unique and very very scary. Tower and his men are among the worst I have encountered - only rivalled by Reuben Cavazos on the other side of the river.
As I said at the start, I was not Kori's number one fan. But as this story unravelled, I was drawn in and made to feel what it must be like to be her. Her world is scary as all Hell. She must obey Tower's every order or face resistance pain, or worse yet, another stint in the basement. Kori's world is not as black and white as the surface may appear.

I love how from the moment I picked it up, this book was an action-packed roller coaster of events. There were highs, there were lows. But in amongst all the ugly, scary things, there was a glimmer of something prettier, sweeter. Something that could bloom regardless of all the ugliness surrounding it. What was that thing?... Guess or read it for yourself! My lips are sealed.

I am in awe of the way Rachel Vincent has created such an intricate world with the good, the bad and the ugly. She has created some of my favourite characters in books to date. I still think about Liv Warren and Cam Cabellero from book 1, even though it's been about 8 months since I read it and I am now fully committed to being on Team Kori & Ian. 
I even like the bad guys in the Unbound series. If nothing else, they are memorable characters. 

Did I love this book? 100% I did. Should you read it? Damn straight you should. So if you haven't already, pick up a copy of BLOOD BOUND and settle in for a long and bumpy ride. Then pick up a copy of SHADOW BOUND and settle in for an even more tumultuous ride. 

These are the first two books by Rachel Vincent that I have read and I can tell you now, that woman has a fan-girl for life! For any of you doubting my commitment to RV and her books, check out my tattoo...

This is on my left forearm and it's the saying that Liv Warren has tattood on her in book 1. It means I Yield To No-One. A sentiment I wholeheartedly agree with!

Thanks to Net Galley for being there to provide me with this eARC and thanks Harlequin for accepting my request to read and review it.

Thank you one and all who dropped by to read my review! Hope to see you back soon!


Available on Amazon, Book Depository, Barnes & Noble and all good book sellers.




Wednesday, 27 June 2012

RIP Matthew Blake Kimpel - Gone But Never Forgotten

Hey Guys!


Now I have to say, I don't ask for much. But this time, I am about to ask y'all a big favour. An author friend of mine, Allison Cassatta, has recently lost her brother Matthew. He was murdered just a few days ago on June 24th 2012. I don't really know all the details, all I know is he stood in the path of a bullet for a friend. I don't want to ask Alli questions that she just doesn't want to answer - hence my lack of details. But you can see the story here


Matthew Kimpel was just a mere 30 years old when he died. He had no insurance policy and his mother is on disability, that is the only income that his mother and father get in their household.
Needless to say, they cannot really afford to bury him. Hence my post here today. Y'all knew there was a favour I had to ask, well this is it...


I would like to ask you to look into your heart and see if it is at all possible to make a small donation to the burial fund for Matthew.


I know none of you knew him, nor did I. Perhaps you know Allison, perhaps you don't. But I am really hoping that you will be able make some kind of contribution. It can be 50 cents... $1... $5.... (or for my UK friends 50p..£1..£5..) Whatever you can spare. It would mean so much to me personally and to Allison and her parents. 


Please, PLEASE help the Kimpel family bury their son in the fashion he deserves.


And please, keep the family in your thoughts and prayers! Many Thanks to you all!


If you would be so kind as to donate here: 


They have a goal of $5,000 and so far have reached $2,661.


Many Thanks for coming and reading this post, regardless of whether you can donate or not.  If you want to comment on this post regarding a donation you have made, leave me your name and email address so that I may personally thank each and every one of you!



Monday, 25 June 2012

COEXIST by Julia Crane - Welcome To My Stop On The Blog Tour!

Hello Folks and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for COEXIST: THE KEEGAN CHRONICLES.
I am lucky enough to bring you 2 excerpts for this book so sit back and get comfy!




Author: Julia Crane
Release Date: June 10th 2012

"Sixteen-year-old Keegan is struggling to keep her huge secret from her friends—she's an elf, descended from a long line of elves that live in secrecy alongside humans.  

In elfin society, mates are predetermined but not allowed to meet until they are eighteen.  Against tradition, Keegan's brother Thaddeus told her Rourk's name because his visions warned him she'd need Rourk's protection, especially since Keegan will play a key role in the coming war between the dark and light elves.

Rourk finds himself drawn to Keegan's side every time she thinks his name. He wants to talk to her but remains in the shadows, silently guarding her every time she mentally beckons him. A twist of fate thrusts the two of them together when Rourk is forced to step up his protection and make his presence known.

An ancient prophecy deeply entwines Keegan's family and the future of their society. Somehow they must find a way to thwart fate and win the battle...without losing Keegan. With war brewing, and dark forces aligning, will Keegan and Rourk ever have the life together that they both desire?"


The promised two excerpts await your attention....!



EXCERPT #1

Elfin elders used complicated methods to arrange ideal marriages between young elves. The secret of this formula had a need-to-know basis; meaning, he would never know how the auburn-haired beauty was chosen for him. There were many creatures in this world, but his kind held their secrets close to their chest. But it didn’t matter how or why; Rourk was grateful simply to have her.
There were certain rules his kind had to follow. One’s lifemate may have been chosen at birth, but the first and most important rule was that they could not meet until they both turned 18. Ordinarily, neither knew their other half until they became of age.  Their society believed it was better this way, as the bond could be all-consuming. They didn't want their children to be deprived of a normal childhood. Growing up knowing that one’s other half was out there waiting brought a sense of comfort to Rourk. 
So how did he find her?
Someone had told her his name. His chosen pulled him closer to her each time she thought of him. It was as involuntary as breathing. When he was younger he could resist with ease. As he got closer to being of age, curiosity got the better of him. Sometimes he wished he’d resisted so he didn’t have to endure the agony of waiting now. 
Although, he loved seeing her even if it caused him pain. 
Rourk focused his attention back on his chosen. She was standing on the rocks as the water rushed around her feet—camera in hand, as usual. One minute, she skipped across the rocks like a child, and the next she would stop, a look of total concentration taking over her face. That was when she started snapping photos.
Staring at her, Rourk squatted and rested his hands on his knees, wondering what she saw through her lens. He watched as she jumped from a rock and slipped as she landed on another, her arms flailing as she almost fell into the water. 
His heart lurched. A strong need to protect her filled his body, and if her laugh hadn’t echoed up to him like music, he was poised to jump in after her. But instead, her face broke into a huge grin as she steadied herself and continued to take photos. Rourk relaxed, content to stand and watch her for hours.
Rourk didn’t even know her name, but he knew he’d never seen anything so magnificent in his life. Her wavy hair glistened in the sunlight. She had a delicate, round face with large, blue-green eyes and full lips. With her cheeks flushed from the cold fall air, she reminded him of a porcelain doll. He knew all too well, though, that looks could be deceiving. She looked sweet and innocent, but it was her eyes that gave her away. They were bold and daring, constantly observing her surroundings. Rourk smiled to himself; she would soon belong to him.
It took a lot of self-control not to approach her, but Rourk knew that would be breaking the rules. The elders were serious about chosens meeting at the proper age. Many decades before, they implemented a punishment of an added year apart if the rules were disregarded. 
An extra year without his chosen would have been soul destroying. In any case, his military upbringing had given Rourk a healthy respect for rules. He had long ago accepted that they were in place for a reason, and he had to be patient. Their time would come. Unfortunately, she was over a year younger than he, which meant he would have to wait longer than he would like.
He pondered this as he watched her pack up, lovingly storing her camera away in its bag while her hair fell softly over her face. When she disappeared down the path to her house, Rourk sighed, turned and left. 

EXCERPT #2 

Keegan was terrified. 
Her eyes glanced frantically around trying to think a way out of this situation. How could this be happening, even with all my training? She was sure she could not defend herself against four guys. A drop of sweat fell from her face, and her heart was racing. 
The biggest one pushed her up against the wall. She could smell the alcohol on his breath.
“Well, aren’t you a fine piece of meat?” 
Glaring at him, she said, “Get your hands off me.” 
“A feisty one, eh?” he laughed. 
Without thinking, she drove her knee into his groin. He groaned and doubled over. The others advanced, and the big one yelled, “She’s mine.”
She felt like she was going to throw up when his hands groped her chest. Please don’t do this, she thought. I belong to Rourk.
When she thought his name, it pierced through Rourk’s heart. Nothing mattered to him except keeping her safe. How dare anyone else lay their hands on her? He would make them pay. 
Out of nowhere, Keegan felt her attacker pulled off of her. She looked up just as a flash of light went off, and what she saw made her heart drop; she felt as if she were in a free fall as she stared into the most beautiful face she’d ever seen. His grey eyes met hers and he tipped his head, giving her a slight nod.
Keegan whispered, Rourk? It was only a matter of seconds, but it felt like a lifetime. 
He yelled over the crowd, “Go to the exit and text your friends to meet you.” His voice sounded like music to her ears; it was deep, but not too deep, and filled with authority. 
As much as she hated to leave, she didn’t dare ignore him. She ran away.


So now we have your attention.. Right?!! Well read on to see what I thought!


*I hereby award this book 4 wings!*

Firstly, some cover art appreciation. Those of you familiar with my blog will already know this but for those of you who are new, I am a self-confessed cover-magpie. I collect pretty and shiny covers. This one is certainly both! I am not actually a big lover of the colour green, never have been really. But this cover defies that. I adore it, not in spite of it's colour, instead because I think it wouldn't look right any other way. The model is beautiful and it is just so eye-catching.


It was when I received the email from RABT asking if I wanted to sign up for the tour that I first saw this cover. It instantly had me wanting to know what this book was about.


Now I have read it and I am here to tell you why I awarded it the 4 wing rating.


From the very first page of this book I was drawn in. It was a lightning-paced page turner of a book. I love books that aren't overly drawn out before you get into the thick of the story. Don't get me wrong, I like world-building, just not huge information overloads that make you feel as though your brain might explode. 


COEXIST is the story of 16 year old Keegan. She's not your typical teenager and not just because she isn't all sullen teenage angst. What makes her different is that she's an elf.
She's a friendly, sweet, caring girl who seems to adore her family and friends. The only one thing she doesn't have is a boyfriend. 
Elves are allowed to date, but once they turn 18, they are law-bound to marry their 'Chosen' partner (soul mate). 
This 'Chosen' is exactly what it says on the tin - chosen for them. It's not a choice they make for themselves. The choice is made based upon their likes/dislikes, who and what they are. Their perfect match is then selected but that information isn't given to them until they are 18.
So for Keegan, she knows she has a 'Chosen' and she knows his name is Rourk. So she chooses not to date anyone else, she's waiting for her soul mate. Realistically, she shouldn't even know his name, but her brother Thaddeus is a Seer - meaning he has visions - and he told her his name.


At this point, I was loving the story but wasn't quite sure what to make of the whole 'Chosen' thing. I mean, is there really any point in dating anyone else when you know you can't be with them past 18? What happens if you fall in love at the age of 17 only to be torn from that relationship to marry someone you have never met and it's been decided for you whether they are in fact good enough for you? 
I get the fact that the matches are made on the basis of likes, dislikes, interests and so on and so forth. But, who is to say that just because you have things in common that you are going to be the ideal match. For instance, I have a lot in common with a lot of my friends, but it doesn't mean I would want to be in a relationship with any of them - hence why I'm not. 
Plus, I would want to know what my partner was going to look like considering it's to be a life-long relationship. Okay so that may be a wee bit shallow but aren't we all a little shallow really? Would you want to be with someone who you find completely unattractive? No? Nor would I.
Lastly, call me old-fashioned, but it's not really very romantic. It's not like they get a chance to meet each other and work at the relationship - it's more like everything is plotted out for them. That, to me, kills the romance of it all.


But regardless of being in two minds about how that would pan out, I was enjoying the story so I thought I would give the Chosen thing  a chance to grow on me.


The one thing I really liked about this story was that because it was told from third person point of view, you got chance to see things from different people throughout. It was done in such a way that it didn't feel too choppy and you didn't get lost trying to figure who the particular part was on about. So you got to learn about many of the different characters in a short space of time, rather than being stuck in the head of Keegan and learning about them in her words. 


It wasn't just a story about love. There was some action in there too, which pleased me immensely. There was a war between the light and the dark (you'll find out what I mean when you read the book)
I would have loved the part about this to have been a little more involved, a little more detailed. But maybe that's just me.  I won't tell you the outcome or anything, all I will say is that it ended a little too quickly. I would have liked to have read more fight scenes. 


I really liked Rourk - the love interest - and I love how it is between them when Keegan and Rourk finally meet. It made me wonder if I was misjudging the whole 'Chosen' thing, so I ended up accepting it for what it was, the law of the society in which they live. I may not like or want it for myself, but then I'm not the one living it am I?!


I like Julia Crane's easy writing style. She doesn't unnecessarily overcomplicate things. I found myself able to read this pretty quickly. Though if real-life hadn't gotten in the way, I would have finished it in one sitting. 
I am looking forward to the other two books in this trilogy and to finding out where it all leads for all the characters involved. There hasn't yet been a character I don't like. Whether that's because elves have a naturally sunnier disposition than us humans do - I don't really know. 
There are secondary characters who I would definitely love to hear more from and I read that Julia is writing spin-off novels to tell us more about each in their own right. I will look forward to reading them, that's for sure. 


So thanks must go to RABT for the invite to the blog tour. Also to Julia Crane for introducing me to elves in YA. I can't wait to see where this journey leads them in the last two books.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Reading Addiction Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Reading Addiction Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*

Julia Crane Bio:

Julia Crane is the author of the young adult paranormal fiction novels: Keegan's Chronicles, Mesmerized and Eternal Youth. Julia was greatly encouraged by her mother to read and use her imagination, and she’s believed in magical creatures since the day her grandmother first told her an Irish tale. Julia has traveled far and wide to all the places her grandmother told her about and more, gaining inspiration from her journeys to places like Nepal, Cyprus, Sri Lanka, Italy, France and many more. And who knows? Maybe the magical creatures she writes about are people she met along the way.

Julia Crane has a bachelors degree in criminal justice. Although she's spent most of her life on the US east coast, she currently lives in Dubai with her husband and three children.
You can contact Julia via her website


Buy Coexist Here:


AMAZON UK
AMAZON US
BARNES & NOBLE

Lastly thanks goes to you guys my readers. Whether you are already a follower of mine from Twitter, Facebook or wherever - or you are new to my blog, thank you for dropping by to read this post today. Please know that you are welcomed back with open arms any time you want to swing by. I will look forward to seeing you!








SAVAGE by Willow Rose - Review, Interview & Giveaway!

*GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED*




Title: SAVAGE
Author: Willow Rose
Release Date: June 15th 2012
Source: e-book from the author for review


"The year is 1983. Christian is 22 years old when he leaves his home in Denmark to spend a year in Florida with a very wealthy family and go to med-school.
A joyful night out with friends is shattered by an encounter with a savage predator that changes his life forever. Soon he faces challenges he had never
expected. A supernatural gift he has no idea how to embrace. A haunting family in the house next door. A spirit-filled girl who seems to carry all the answers.
An ancient secret hidden in the swamps of Florida. One life never the same. One love that becomes an obsession. Two destinies that will be forever entangled.
Savage is a young adult title with some language, violence, and sexual situations recommended for ages sixteen and up"


I hereby award this book 5 wings!

My Review:


When I first picked up this book, I was a little taken aback by the fact that an older Christian was narrating the story. I wasn't sure how it was going to work with an older version of him telling us what happened to him when he was younger. But - and this is a very big BUT - it worked perfectly. After just a chapter, I had settled into his narrative and was looking forward to him taking me on a journey.


That, is exactly what happened. A journey of discovery. 


The year is 1983 and Christian is hoping to fulfill his fathers wishes and become a doctor. His father has paid for him to leave his home in Denmark and go to Med School in America for a year. So he goes, even though it's not really his own dream. No, Christian would go through life from one job to the next, one woman to the next. He's not exactly the settling type. More the 'love them and leave them' sort. 


There's 2 quotes that I really loved that show you what kind of person Christian is.


"I loved girls, but I used them and threw them away. I devoured them. I exploited the fact that they adored me."


"Some even came into my life thinking that they would be the ones that could change my ways and make me settle down, they wanted to save me from myself, but they always leave with a broken heart."


He knows that he's good looking and charming. He knows that girls adore his curly mane of hair, his beautiful smile. He plays on these attributes to make girls flock to him, then he discards them as though they meant nothing. Fact is, that's exactly what they mean to him - nothing.


But he has an eidetic memory and feels that he can become a doctor quite easily. After all, he only needs to read a book once and it's there in his memory banks. 
At this point, I don't really believe Christian thinks there's any more to becoming a doctor than 'book smarts' - I mean, it takes a lot of hard graft to be a doctor. It's not all about what's in the text books. There are things you need to learn that either come naturally or you work hard at - but he seems to think that because of his memory, he can waltz through it.


When Christian arrives in Florida, he is to live with the Kirk family. Dr and Mrs Kirk and their daughter, Heather. They have agreed to give him a home whilst he studies, but Dr Kirk would like him to keep his hands off his daughter. Which for Christian will be hard to do, Heather is beautiful. But being the 'love them and leave them' guy that he is, perhaps he really should keep his eyes off her. It would only cause problems within the household and having to live there for a year could become quite uncomfortable...


It's on an evening with Heather and her friends at the Twelve Mile Swamps that Christian's life takes a dramatic change of course. Both Heather and Christian are swimming in the water, but it's Christian that falls victim to an alligator attack. 


They say that in a near-death experience, your life flashes before you. But Christian instead sees a jaguar come to his rescue. A beautiful creature with black rosettes in it's fur. This jaguar attacks the alligators, crushing their skulls with just one bite. Then instead of attacking Christian too, it drags him to shore. 


His injuries mean that Christian can't start school as scheduled. Instead he spends his days at the Kirks home recuperating. 


In the garden one day, Christian sees the little girl in the garden next door. She seems to be sitting amongst floating toys. Her and her older sister are playing and laughing. Christian witnesses this and can't help but smile. The older sister is a beautiful sight to behold.
So it's with this in mind he goes to introduce himself. 


Little does Christian know that introducing himself to the girls and their family will take his life off the course he thought that it was on. 


Aiyana - the beautiful older sister - and he become close. Something seems to take over his thoughts when he is with her. It's as though he needs her. He craves her affection. He's never felt this way about a girl before and it comes as a shock. 
The family encourage him to play the guitar and sing his beautiful songs, something he hasn't done much since the alligator attacked him. He's been in a kind of funk and can't seem to bring himself out of it. So they encourage him to play for them, use his beautiful voice to sing them songs that he sang after his mother passed away when he was younger. 
With this family, in their home, Christian feels something he hasn't felt in a long time, true happiness.


I can't tell you what happens from here. There are things that must be discovered for yourself. There are twists and shocks that I simply cannot reveal.


I loved this book. It was easy to get swept away with the story. There were ups and downs for all involved. But though there were trials and tribulations that Christian must face, on the whole, this story was a joy to behold. You follow Christian through from being a young 'Casanova' to being a more mature young man who finally knows what it's like to feel true love. 
But it's not just a love story. And not all is as it seems. This is a Paranormal Romance - there are secrets to be told. Are you ready to listen?


I am grateful that Willow Rose got in contact and asked me if I would like to review SAVAGE. If she hadn't, I may never have come across this beautiful story. I am really looking forward to book 2. I can't tell you what happens at the end of this book to make me yearn for the next book - all I can say is, it's truly worth reading and discovering for yourself.



Author Bio: 

Willow Rose writes YA Paranormal Romance and fantasy. Originally from Denmark shenow lives on Florida’s Space Coast with her
husband and two daughters. She is a huge fan of Anne Rice and Isabel Allende. Whenshe is not writingor reading she enjoys to watch
the dolphins play in the waves of the Atlantic Ocean.


Now a little Q&A...


1. Describe Savage in a sentence! 
A beast carrying an ancient secret, a boy, a haunting girl, love, obsession, desire and a heart bound to be broken.
2. Tell as about your plans for the series (how many books will there be?) 
am planning on doing a sort of a family saga. In the first book the characters are in their twenties, in the next they will be in their thirties and in the third one they will have grown kids of their own. This way you get to know the characters really well and you'll want to because they are really likeable. I am also planning on doing a book about the female main character's childhood and maybe one about her sister as well. They are so interesting people and I adore them so much that I simply have to tell their stories.

3. Do you have any writing quirks or rituals (coffee, tea, a special place,
music...)?
I drink lots of green tea and I sit on a big fluffy pillow

4. Who inspired you to start writing? Who are your favorite authors/
books?
  I have always told stories to whoever would listen. In school I
remember sitting in class during recess and telling stories to my friends
making them forget that they were about to go out and play. Even my
teacher would often listen in as well. I love spellbinding my audience.
My favorite authors are Anne Rice and Isabel Allende. My favorite book
is The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. I read it as a child and that
was when my imagination really took off. I have read it again and again
since then.
Your advice to beginner writers: Write, write and then write some more. The
more you write the better you get. And never listen to anyone who thinks you
can't do it.

5. How do you develop your plots and your characters? Do you use any set
formula?
The story and the characters come to me. I like to say that they "pop up"
in my head. That is the best way I can describe it. The characters are just
there all of a sudden and then they start to do stuff and talk to other
people and soon there is a whole story that I simply have to tell or else I
will burst. I simply adore the characters from Savage and I know
everybody else will too. They are so lovable. I have a hard time letting go
of them. I will write three books about the main character Christian. It is
sort of a family-saga really. In the first book he is in his twenties and so is
the woman he falls in love with. In the second book they have kids of
their own and are in their thirties. In the last book they will have young
teenagers. I am also planning on doing a book about Aiyana, the spiritfilled
Native American girl that he falls hopelessly in love with. About her
and when she first discovers who she really is. I might also do a book
about her sister who does telekinesis and their grand-mother who
predicts natural disasters. I love those characters so much that they each
deserve their own book.

6. Are the names of the characters in your novels important? How and why?
A lot of my characters are descendants from the Timucua Indians that
lived in Florida before the Europeans came so they have Native American
names. Each name has a meaning. Like the woman that Christian falls in
love with. Her name is Aiyana, which means "Eternal blossom".

*Now for the promised giveaway. There's a chance for you to win a SIGNED paperback copy of Savage or an e-book copy for the runner-up!*







The winner of the giveaway is Carly Chambers! 


And the runner up is LAURA ANDREWS! (who will receive an e-copy of SAVAGE)



So all that leaves me to say is...





Thursday, 21 June 2012

TOUCH OF THE GODS by D.X Luc - Character Interview With Vanessa...



Welcome Everyone! *waves* 
I have a treat for you on the blog today. As the post title suggests, I am bringing you a character interview with Vanessa from TOUCH OF THE GODS. This is not a YA book, it is in fact an Erotic novel.






Haven't read TotG yet? Well after this, I'm pretty sure you'll want to! :)


Synopsis:



"When love and war makes a little wager, what could possibly go wrong?

I am Hephaestus. God of inventions, blacksmiths, and volcanoes. Sounds like I'm awesome right? Well, I'm not. In fact, I'm the loser of Olympus and a new bachelor to boot. Living the single life is great until a decade passed. Honestly if my divorce from the Goddess of Love wasn't bad enough, I am still being rejected by the other women of my home.

Because of an incessant need to make me a pawn in his game, my brother, Ares convinces Eros to make a little bet. A wager that puts my lack of love life to the test. Sent to Earth, I'm skeptical, when suddenly I lose myself in the sensual scent and beauty of the full bodied  Vanessa. She is my everything, my perfection.

Sadly, from a single caress upon her silky flesh, I sent our lives into a downward spiral of hell. To save her, I must get beyond my demons of the past. And to save me, she will have to decide if I'm worth giving up everything for."


Let's give a warm welcome to Vanessa who took some time out to be here today...



Q.What do you think of your book?
A: I found my book to be very thrilling. A roller coaster ride of the ages.

Q.Who was bigger?
A: Hephaestus of course. Have you not seen the size of him?

Q.Who was better?
A: The cheesecake.

Q.Besides the whole insanity thing if you had it to do again, would you let him touch you?
A: If you're talking about Hephaestus, then yes. If you're talking about Ares, then yes.

Q.Are you an exhibitionist?
A: Before going through what I did, I would say no, but now I really enjoy it from time to time.

Q.Besides the bathroom where else have you had public sex?
A: A park, in a chariot, a volcano. Normal places like that.

Q.What is your take on the Goddess of Love?
A: I want to say she needs love, but that would mean I actually cared.

Q.Would you save her if her life depended on it?
A: She's a goddess so that whole immortality thing will mean I won't have to ever be in that situation.

Q.How are things with your mother in law?
A: We don't see her much. She doesn't like to come to the house which is just fine with me.

Q.Has your sister tried to read any more strange men's auras?
A: If she isn't she's not complete. She's already been banned from several stores now.

Q.Is the pizza really that good at Sticky Licks?
A: It's the best and I can't wait to head home to get some more.

Q.Have you and Calvin ever, well you know done the deed?
A: Ha! No, but I would have if he ever was into me like that.

Q.Have you ever seen Calvins pogo stick?
A: Once when we were both very drunk he ran naked around college campus.

Q.What is Hades really like?
A: Creepy isn't really the word that best describes him. I'm just glad I'll never have to deal with him anymore. Or so I hope.

Q.You have met alot of Gods and Goddess? Who do you like, dislike?
A: Though I have my names, it's best to keep them to myself. They can curse you and make your life a living hell.

Q.If you had it to do again, would you?
A: I would. Though I had no say in how it all started to begin with. I am very glad how it concluded.

Q.What would you do different?
A: If I changed anything then I wouldn't be where I am now and that just wouldn't do.

Thank you Vanessa. That was intriguing, to say the least. 

If you haven't yet picked up your copy of TotG, you can get it on your Kindle today, here:


or you can pick up a paperback copy:




*Disclaimer: All material for this post was provided by the author D.X Luc*
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...