Saturday, 31 March 2012

Would You Adam And Eve It?....

Not sure if the title of this post will be understood by all, so I will clear it up for you... It means 'Would you believe it?'

On with my news...

I got a very interesting email from a lady called Cami. She's from Reading Addiction Blog Tours. Amongst other things said in the email she said this:

"I have had a chance to stop by your blog and I really feel you would be a great addition to our Blog Tour Host Team."

I was absolutely overwhelmed upon reading this. I feel highly honoured that someone has looked at my blog and liked what they saw enough to offer me an opportunity like this. Needless to say I signed up right then. I am now waiting to be a part of my first Blog Tour for RABT. 

So it is now with pride that I can say I am an official blog tour host:


Want to know more about RABT? Click here for their blog!

You know what? This wouldn't have even been possible were it not for all you fabulous Indie Authors that are at my roots. You gave me the faith to believe and the strength to pursue my book reviewing. Every time I have an author thank me for my review, it touches my heart in a way you can't imagine. 
Also, thanks must go to Harper Collins and Macmillan, indeed to any publisher that takes a chance on me and my reviewing. Without you all behind me, I would be nowhere.

And where would I be without my family and friends. You make me who I am today. I am proud to know each and everyone of you. From those I know in person, to those I've met on Twitter and other social sites. I love you all. You all have a place in my heart. My book blogger friends are amazing. Such a support network a girl could not ask for. Never in my wildest dreams did I believe I would make such fantastic connections. But now, today, you are all my family. My bookworm family.

So, 
to you all! xoxoxo

Review of GRAVE MERCY by Robin LaFevers


Title: GRAVE MERCY
Author: Robin LaFevers
Source: ARC copy from NetGalley for review
Publish Date: 3rd April 2012

I hereby award this book 5 wings!

I have to be honest, it was the cover that drew me in to this book. I got one of those lovely 'feed your reader' emails from Net Galley announcing this and I decided to download it even though I didn't really know what it was about. I know, I should have checked it out properly but I was basing it on having heard some good things about it. 

Having gone into it blind, I found that I really was lucky with this book. It was AMAZING. One of my very favourite books, I kid you not. I have never read an historic book like this before but now I think that I might look into them in the future. I will certainly be waiting on the edge of my seat for the next in the His Fair Assassin series, DARK TRIUMPH, in Spring 2013.

If like me you know nothing of GRAVE MERCY, then let me give you the blurb:

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf? 

"Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others. 

Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?"


When I first started this book and realised it was set in 1485, I was a little hesitant about reading it - this was based on the fact that when I read some books and they have the prologue set in the past, I find it hard to get into until the book gets to the present. But 1485 is Grave Mercy's 'present'. Once I got past my initial hesitancy, I was really enamoured by this book. 

One of the things I loved the most was the fact that Ismae was one of 'Death's Handmaidens' - it probably wasn't meant as such, but I thought this was really cool. I mean Ismae got to concoct poisons and learn techniques with which to kill a man. This girl who started out as a victim, from being nearly aborted by her mother, to being abused by the men in her life, became an assassin and as such went from what you think of as weak to a badass heroine whom I came to feel a real empathy for. 

The second thing I loved most about this book would have to be one of the characters, Gavriel Duval. *swoons* I absolutely adored him. The relationship between Ismae and Gavriel isn't 'girl meets boy, falls in love, lives happily ever after'. It's a slow building, gradual relationship. Ismae is doing the work of her convent and her God, St Mortain. Whilst Gavriel is a noble lord. When has there ever been such a pairing? 
I enjoyed seeing the way in which Ismae and Gavriel built up a relationship between them. It wasn't all lovey dovey and doe eyed mushy moments. It was worked from a tentative friendship to [oops I can't tell you what became of them]. I certainly found myself captured in the moment and having to keep turning the pages to find out what happened next.

What was interesting was the basis for the story once Ismae and Gavriel were at the High Court. I won't go into the political ins and outs as I fear I will get it incorrect or spoil it in some other way for you. All I will say is that if you looked at the word 'political' and thought "I'm not sure I want to read on" - you really should do away with any misconception that it is dull and dreary. It truly isn't. There isn't a load of boring information dropped on you, nor does the author drone on about things as you might fear. Instead it is a story based around something political that arises and the characters trying to come up with a solution that suits everyone concerned.

There are many characters to love and indeed to loathe. I won't tell you who's who but you should look out for Beast and De Lornay. I like them nearly as much as I like Ismae and Gavriel. 

Having never read anything by Robin LaFevers before, I was unsure what to expect from her style of writing. What I discovered is that she expertly crafts a world that I found I didn't want to leave. I was happily lost within the pages of this incredible story. 

At one point I found myself thinking back to when I read Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. I was reminded of the relationship between Yelena and Valek. It brought back fond memories for me as that was a series I loved. 

I found I didn't mind the political aspect as much as I thought I would in the beginning. I felt it may detract from the story for me but it didn't. It was an integral part of the story and it would not have been the same without it. 
The fact that you take many a YA story, strip it back to it's bare bones and it's basically a love story, meant that I was expecting more of the same here. But that is not what I got and I was pleasantly surprised by that. I love a good love story as much as the next person but it's the way in which they are weaved in with other things that make me really route for the characters.
I honestly felt like I could have been Ismae. Towards the end even more so. I won't tell you what caused it but I found myself crying on 3 occasions. I very nearly had my heart broken beyond any hope of repair, but my heart held on and so did my love for Gavriel and Ismae. They aren't your conventional couple and that's what makes me route for them even more. 
I cried so hard on one occasion that my glasses were actually sliding down my nose with the force of my tears. I had to stop reading and wipe my make-up off as it was making my eyes itch as I had mascara everywhere.
Once I got to about 73% I found I couldn't go to bed without finishing the book. I knew it would be a late night but I was so enthralled that I could not bring myself to wait until the next day to find out what happened. So it was 2am before I finally crawled into bed, exhausted from lack of sleep but also because of crying my heart out.

I am truly pleased I decided to take a chance on this book and am very grateful to the publisher for approving my request via Net Galley. 
I can't wait for Dark Triumph next Spring. Though I know it is set to follow Sybella [I won't tell you who she is, read the book & find out] - I do hope that Ismae and Gavriel feature even in a small part, just so that I know what became of them.

Thank you Robin for writing a truly touching story that stays with you long after the final word is read. 






Thursday, 29 March 2012

What's the magic word?.. Yes it's GIVEAWAY!!!

**NOW CLOSED!!**


Short and Sweet


The Prizes:


 1 hardback copy of ILLUMINATE by Aimee Agresti

**PLUS**

 SIGNED SWAG to go with it. The lucky winner will receive 2 ILLUMINATE bookmarks & a hotel keycard - all signed by Aimee.

**PLUS** (yes there's more)

Another SIGNED SWAG set  
That also contains 2 ILLUMINATE bookmarks & a hotel keycard. 




Announcing The Winners:


The winner of the hardback book & SWAG is: *Sherlyn Goh*


The winner of the second set of SWAG was: *Michele Swindle*



Sherlyn, I have sent you an email asking for your address - 
Michele, your SWAG will be on it's way as soon as possible.





T's & C's. PLEASE READ:
  • Gothic Angel Book Reviews accepts no responsibility for books or swag that are damaged or lost in the post.
  • International post takes longer so please allow 2-4 weeks for delivery.
  • The winner of the giveaway will be contacted by email for their mailing address. If no response to the email is received within a week, the prizes will go to the next selected winner.
  • Entries will only be counted once
  • Entrants found to duplicate their entries will be disqualified & will have their names removed from the draw.

Wednesday, 28 March 2012

I Was Off To Bed Last Night When...

I got an email that made me stay awake. I always check my emails before bed, I don't know why, just a habit I guess. Well last night, I was glad I checked them. Why? I'll tell you.


I got an email from a lady called Ada Adams. She's the author of a book called ReVamped. I had been looking the book up just 2 days ago and then Ada coincidentally sent me an email asking if I would like to review it. Yes, I did take my already groaning bookshelf into account but I just couldn't say no. It looks so darn good I just couldn't resist.


Wanna see why? Well here's a bit about ReVamped:



Stunning cover, right?! I'm a purple addict so that was what drew me in initially. I love the model, the font, EVERYTHING about it.
Now I have you hooked (it's impossible not to be), I will give you the blurb:

A simple mission turned deadly. 

Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered life within the confines of her father’s presidential headquarters. Upon being sent on a mission to revamp four goofy misfits into guardians of a peaceful little town of Angel Creek, Dawn believes that all her dreams have finally come true. What starts off as a simple task, turns into something unexpected, changing Dawn’s life forever and leading the action-loving, thrill-seeking vampire teen on a path of mystery, danger and intrigue. 

When a human girl is kidnapped by a group of rogue vamps, Dawn discovers that there is more going on in Angel Creek than meets the eye. And it all connects to Ethan, the cute newcomer who seems too perfect to be true, Sebastian, the mysterious vampire with a turbulent past, and even Dawn herself. Dawn must not only succeed in revamping the troubled recruits, but must also prevent the vampire race from being overtaken by a malevolent villain who has a strange and obsessive fascination with her. As threat escalates, romance blooms, and ghosts from her past begin to surface, Dawn is sure of only one thing: her life will never be the same

Sounds good doesn't it? Now you know why I couldn't resist the temptation lain before me. So Ada kindly gifted it to me via Amazon and it's now sat on my Kindle awaiting my attention.

If you wanted to add it to your own Goodreads TBR pile,  click here
If you want to connect with Ada on Twitter, click here


My Goodness, Someone Gave Me An Award...

What did I do to deserve such kindness? I have been nominated for another Versatile Blogger Award! WOW!!

Here it is....!


A HUGE thank you must go to the wonderful Jo Cattell over at Dreams Are What Make Writing Happen for nominating me for this award! I love you Jo!!! <3 xoxo


Now, the rules for accepting this award are as follows:
1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to other bloggers.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

Okay so 7 things about myself, I shared some rather random ones the last time I was nominated and I'm not sure what else I really want to share.... Hmm *puts on thinking cap*

1. I am a book-a-holic! Okay so this one is obvious but it has to be said!

2. I am a self-confessed cover-magpie. I like aesthetically pleasing book covers. I know you are thinking How Shallow...But I can't help it. I like what I like.

3. I love music. My iPod has a very eclectic bunch of things on it. Some examples: The Smiths, New Order, The Cure, The  Fratellis, Evanescence, UB40, Usher, Dirty Dancing Soundtrack, Maroon 5, Michael Bolton, Curtis Stigers... I won't go on but you get that it's a very mixed bag!

4. I have a beautiful friend over the pond in Round Rock, Texas. Her name is Michele Swindle and I call her my ToA - it stands for Twin Of Awesomeness - this is because we were both telling each other how awesome they were and I said 'I think we used up the last drop of Awesome in the well' - the nickname just stuck!

5. I am a Twitter Addict!! There's so many times when I should be doing other things, but the draw of Twitter is too strong lol

6. I have a tendency to over use punctuation on purpose. Plus I capitalise things UN-NECESSARILY lol And I add extra letters to emphasise things! 

and lastly

7. Erm... what else can I tell you?.... Oh okay, I am addicted to and in love with Alexander Skasgard. The Tall One is just stunning. I was bought an Eric Northman bust from the HBO Store. Oh my gosh was I happy at Christmas. Now he sits in my living room so I can see him every single day! YAY!! :D


So now for my nominees... *drumroll*...

1. My ToA, Michele. I couldn't go without nominating her: A Belle's Tales

2. Carly over at Fiction Fascination

3. JessieRae Lloyd over at Words Pages & Books

4. Tristan over at Reviews From The Hammock

5. Kate at Read To Review

6. Kate at Me, My Books & I

7. Kelly Hashway - Author of the upcoming Touch Of Death

8. Patti Roberts - Author of Paradox: The Angels Are Here & Progeny of Innocence

9. Kristin over at Book Sniffers Anonymous

10. Ada Adams - actress, model and author of ReVamped

So there are my 10. Who will be theirs?




Free Book, Free Book, Did Someone Say FREE Book?!?!

Yes, that's right, your eyes are not deceiving you... I said FREE BOOK. Even better than free (in my opinion) is that it's a book about Angels. WOOT!! Anyone who knows me knows I am enthusiastic about Angel books. (some might say obsessed - and they wouldn't be wrong)


Anyway, enough talk, more downloading.... Folks, I am here to bring you...



*click title to add to GR & authors name to follow on Twitter*

When Taylor meets Gabriel at college, she is in awe of the subtle glow that surrounds him. No one else, not even her best friend, seems to notice. 
Something about him scares her. 
Is all as it appears? While Taylor struggles for answers, she finds herself in the middle of a century old war centered on one miraculous revelation: evolution.


So, now that you are salivating over the cover (that I believe was designed by PhatPuppy) you want to know how to get it for free, right?! 
Okay, all you have to do is pop over to Smashwords and enter the coupon code: TU38Z 
This voucher code expires on 30th June 2012 so go get your copy whilst the going is good!


If you want to know a bit more about David, here are some links to connect with him:
David Estes' Blog
Facebook Page


So go, connect with this Indie Author and show him your support. His Facebook page says his goal is to reach 1 million likes - is he an eternal optimist, or a realist?  Go like him & see!
You will also be pleased to know that there are also two more books after Angel Evolution
DEMON EVOLUTION
and
ARCHANGEL EVOLUTION
*click to the titles to add to GR*


If you like ANGEL EVOLUTION, please leave a review on Smashwords, Goodreads & Amazon.
If you know other people that might enjoy it, pass the code on to them for download - or you can now gift a book via Smashwords. 


Thank you everyone for dropping by. Thanks to those who decide to download this book. 
To anyone who's in two minds, my motto is 'Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained' - it's a free book, so what harm can it do to give it a try?!





Monday, 26 March 2012

In My Mailbox W/C 19th March 2012

Okay, so I am a little bit behind, should have posted this last week! Oops ;)

During the week, I got:


I got this from Net Galley. I am stoked about reading it!!

By the time I got to posting this, I have actually read it and it's amazing!!
Stunning cover, stunning book within! :)

I absolutely LOVED The Dark Divine & The Lost Saint. I cannot wait to read The Savage Grace!

I loved the Blue Bloods series so now it's time to see how I feel about Melissa's witches!

and lastly,

I got this in my email from the publisher


Review of A TEMPTATION OF ANGELS by Michelle Zink


Author: Michelle Zink
Publish Date: 20th March 2012.


I hereby award this book 5 wings!

I was first drawn to this book by the stunning cover. I was on the authors blog when I noticed it and had to know what it was about. So I looked it up in Goodreads and knew I had to read it. I love to read new things involving angels. I like to read how different authors have a different take, a different concept of how things work. 

I will admit, I have not read anything by Michelle Zink before. However, now I will look to rectify that. I really want to read her Prophecy of the Sisters series. 

Being new to Michelle's writing, I wasn't sure what to expect. I can honestly tell you, I was really impressed by what I found. Michelle has a beautiful, fluid way of writing. She manages to explain things to the reader without 'information overload'. I really liked the natural flow of discovering things as I went along. Some authors can spend too much time on world building and not actually having much happen. But Michelle's world didn't really need building - it was simple, elegant and easy to understand. 

There was only one thing I didn't like about this book and that was the fact that it had to end! The last page came up on me all too fast. I don't know whether there will be several more books after this one but I really, truly hope so. I loved how I got so wrapped up in the story, I honestly felt like I lost huge chunks of time whenever I picked it up. I stayed up late into the night just to finish it off - leaving me tired the next morning because I simply HAD to know what was happening. 

A TEMPTATION OF ANGELS is a story about sixteen year old Helen Cartwright. A girl whose parents are murdered, leaving her an orphan at such a tender age. But her parents had planned for what would happen in such an event. Shortly before they died, Helen's mother made her take a slip of paper, telling her where to go and who to look for. 

Upon escaping from her childhood home before it was engulfed in flames, Helen must find her way to the home of Darius and Griffin Channing. She doesn't know the Channings and doesn't understand what will happen once she gets there but the fact is, she has nowhere else to go, no-one else to turn to in her time of need. 

Helen finds herself launched head first into an underground London where an organisation called the 'Dictata' control the balance of good and evil. Helen discovers that she is one of 3 surviving angelic descendants who are charged with the protection of the world's past, present and future

Unbeknownst to Helen, she has been trained for this her whole life. Her mother and father played games with her as a child in preparation. Now she must accept the responsibility that comes with such a task. Her life depends on it. The fate of the world depends on it. 

Torn between the handsome, charming Griffin Channing and her childhood friend who could destroy her, Helen has to find a way to do what is best. But is what's best for her the same thing as what's best for the rest of the world? It's true that temptation comes in many guises and she finds that it can be hard to resist. 

But Helen must be strong in the face of adversity. She must prepare to be hunted by those that wish her harm and to do the very best that she can do because at the end of the day, that is all anyone can really ask of her. 

I admit I fell totally in love with Griffin. But then I had affection for all the male characters. Griffin was the one who was sweet, polite, handsome. 'The good guy'.  
*Swoons...Mmm Griffin*
Darius was the kind of guy that everything he said was intoned with sarcasm. I know people say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit - but being a sarcastic sort of person myself, I found Darius funny even when Helen did not. 
As for Raum, he was the ultimate bad boy. Without ruining the story for you, I can't tell you how or why. All I can say is, knowing what he has done, it is hard to understand why Helen would feel anything toward him. But in the end, even if you don't feel anything for him yourself, you come to know why Helen does. It's hard, some people will be totally against him whilst others will be for him - whilst me personally, I spent most of my time in the undecided camp. I sort of wanted to forgive him but also didn't know whether he earned the forgiveness. [I won't tell you whether I forgave him or not in the end - I will leave you to figure that out once you've read it]

There were a couple of other characters whom I held affection for. Galizur and his daughter Anna. You will meet them along the way and see just why they also have  places in my heart.

I must say that few books end with me in tears with a pile of tissues beside me. Even fewer books still that start with tears and end with a wry kind of smile. A TEMPTATION OF ANGELS was one of the latter. So I warn you now, if you are an emotional sort, have tissues at the ready before you begin.

If like me you like to curl up with a cup of tea and a good book, then I suggest you make a flask of tea and find a quiet room where you can hang a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door - I warn you, you won't want to come out until you reach the last page. 

My final thought? This book was epic. It left me all at once sated yet hungry for more.

Thank you Michelle for introducing us to fantastic new characters to love and a world in which to get completely lost.

To purchase your copy - though I'd be shocked if you didn't already have one - click one of the following links:






Tuesday, 20 March 2012

Review of FAERY TALES & NIGHTMARES by Melissa Marr


Author: Melissa Marr
Source: Review copy provided by Harper Collins.
Publish Date: First published 13th February 2012. This edition published 1st March 2012.

I hereby give this book 5 wings!

I really love the cover for this book. I love that it's pretty yet haunting at the same time. It was what drew me to it in the first place and made me ask for a copy for review. 

FAERY TALES & NIGHTMARES isn't a full length novel. It's a collection of 8 short stories. WHERE NIGHTMARES WALK, WINTER'S KISS, TRANSITION, LOVE STRUCK, OLD HABITS, STOPPING TIME, COTTON CANDY SKIES AND MERELY MORTAL. 

At first, I wasn't too sure if I could read the ones that take place within the Wicked Lovely world. I haven't yet read that series and I argued with myself as to whether reading them would spoil any future enjoyment when I do pick them up. I needn't have worried though because as it turns out, they made me more likely to read Wicked Lovely. I fell in love with 2 of the characters, Niall and Irial and now I am desperate to read more about them.

*swoons* Sorry, I got sidetracked there for a moment.

I don't want to write this review as I would for a full-length novel. I don't want to spoil it for anyone that hasn't read it yet. The stories are so short and sweet that I find it hard to sum them up and do them justice without giving too much away.
What I can tell you is that this book is a MUST for Wicked Lovely fans. I hadn't actually read anything by Melissa Marr before picking this up but now I know that she is an author that I really look forward to more from. I can definitely tell why she is a New York Times Bestselling Author. Her writing is fast-paced and intriguing, she keeps you guessing what will happen next. I fell truly in love with Niall and Irial and if she can write more characters like them, then I can see myself falling in love plenty more times.

I adore books where you feel like you could actually be part of the story. I felt so at home within the stories based within the Wicked Lovely world. This is why I am now so eager to pick up the series. I actually cried at one of them so if a short story can do that to me, imagine what a full-length novel about those characters will do to me. 
I love all things fey. This is probably why those were my favourite of the 8. But I did enjoy all of them. They were fast and fun for different reasons. 

I am so pleased that I was presented with the opportunity to read this book. So thanks to Rosi at Harper Collins for sending it to me.
Thanks to Melissa Marr for creating such amazingly good stories and worlds in which to get lost.  I look forward to getting to know the rest of your characters. 

If you haven't read this book yet, pick it up here:



Monday, 19 March 2012

In Honour of The Forthcoming Release of The Hunger Games At Cinemas Everywhere...


**GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED**





Product Description
Each player represents a District Citizen or Capital Citizen whose identity remains secret during most of the game. Players attempt to discover each other's identities and ultimately to force their opponents to flee
Box Contains
1 X Jabberjay Card Game



 To Suz Korb, the winner of this awesome game!

To all who entered. Stay tuned, as always, for more giveaways!




Cover Reveal For The Resistance Trilogy -Book #3

I am pleased to be able to bring you the cover for the 3rd book in this amazing trilogy.


Without further ado... *Ta-da!*




As with the previous two books, I greeted this cover with stunned silence. It really is beautiful! Yet again, a superb job has been done and it looks to me like a befitting end to the trilogy.


Release of book 2 of  The Resistance Trilogy doesn't officially launch until next month, but Rachael allowed me to bring this cover and it's release date to you. I can now tell you that this final installment will be launched on October 25th 2012. A long way away? Maybe but at least you have book 2 coming next month to take away some of the longing!


I have read book 2 and let me tell you, you are in for an awesome treat. It is AMAZING! I will be bringing you my review of The Gates (#2) on 21st April 2012 so don't forget to come back and take a peek!


Until then however, I can leave you with a giveaway. You can enter to win a SIGNED paperback of The Gates! Cool or what...?!


Enter HERE:
(ends 1st April 2012)




WELCOME TO MY STOP ON THE FEATHERMORE BLOG TOUR!



Title: FEATHERMORE
Author: Lucy Swing
Source: ARC from the author
 Publish Date: 1st March 2012

Blurb:

"When the one thing you live for is taken from you, do you let it go or do you fall?
Jade, like any other student at Brushwood High, awaits the start of the school year with a certain measure of dread. Worse, she is being threatened by a voice that only she can hear—a voice that lurks at the edges of her awareness, haunting her and warning her of something unknown. She has always been able to count on her two best friends, Claire and Nate, but can she confide in them now? About this? Would they even believe her?
Life takes a turn for the better when she meets Avan, a darkly handsome new student who, somehow, seems to drown out the voice and make her feel at ease.
But Jade soon comes to realize that good things don’t last forever. When everything spirals out of control, she is shattered by something she never saw coming. Dazed and despairing, she must now overcome tragedy and embrace her true existence and a new but dangerous love. Will she be able to save herself and those she loves, before it’s too late? Or will she let the surrounding darkness consume her?"

Author Bio:
Lucy Swing lives in sunny Florida with her husband and two children.
She is a YA Paranormal/ Romance writer, whose works include: Feathermore #1 (Feathermore Trilogy), Bloody Valentine, the novella, and Bloody Valentine is also offered in "Death by Chocolate," an anthology consisting of 6 fantastic YA short stories with a chocolaty twist.
She is an absolute book hoarder and must always have a book at arms distance. Music is her muse, and there is always a soundtrack that plays along her life.
For more information on Lucy Swing please visit her website:



Now for my review:

I hereby award this book 5 wings!

Firstly I must say, I saw the original cover for this book and was in love. (hence it is part of my blog background) So when I saw this new cover, I was taken by surprise. Not in a bad way. It's just so different from what I thought it would be. But having said that, this model is beautiful and makes a very good 'Jade'.

For those of you reading this thinking "She's friends with Lucy, she'll be bias" let me just tell you now, I am NOT bias in the slightest. Unlike with Bloody Valentine (Lucy's novella) I did not get to read FEATHERMORE in it's early drafts. So I don't have a bias to the characters or the author. Yes, I am friends with Lucy, but I read this book as though she wasn't even the one that wrote it.

That being said, now I can get on with my review.

FEATHERMORE is the story of Jade, a senior at Brushwood High. She's your average, happy-go-lucky kind of girl. She's best friends with Nate and Claire. It isn't until the start of her school year that things start to get weird. For a start, she is being warned of something by a voice only she can hear, in a language she cannot decipher.
As she sits in World History on the first day of the year, Mr Morris's class is disrupted by the late-coming new kid. Enter Avan Thomas. Dreamy, delectable *excuse me while I swoon*

Jade can't peel her eyes away from him and to be honest, neither could I. Okay not my eyes but my mind! Suddenly high school got a lot more interesting. Let me tell you, if I had Avan in my classes, I would never have passed a single exam.

*shakes self and gets on with it*

So, where was I? Ahh yes. Avan. There's something about him that Jade is inexplicably drawn to. The chemistry between them sparks as they touch. Actually sparks. Weird, right?!
But Nate and Claire, especially Claire, are not so keen on the idea of their friend forming any kind of bond with the newcomer. 
If I was Jade, I would ignore them and just swoon over Avan. But that's just because he is so good looking and didn't set off any alarm bells. I usually get a feeling from fictional boys that warns me if they will be good or bad. But with Avan, all I felt was hot under the collar.

As it turns out Jade isn't all that hot on paying attention to their opinions either. 

Jade's always been able to count on Nate and Claire. They are after all her two best friends. But she doesn't feel she can tell them about the voice. Now she doesn't feel like listening to them about this either.

Now I can't tell you what happens from here. All I can say is Jade comes to learn that the good things in life must come with an expiration date. Nothing is ever easy and nothing is as it seems. Things take a drastic turn and start to unravel around her. 
From the blurb: Dazed and despairing, she must now overcome tragedy and embrace her true existence and a new but dangerous love. Will she be able to save herself and those she loves, before it’s too late? Or will she let the surrounding darkness consume her
I couldn't put that any better myself -

I will stop here before I have to say 'Spoiler Alert'. As most of you should know, I like to talk forever about books I love. But I don't like to spoil the story for others. So what I will say is, go and buy FEATHERMORE. You won't be sorry that you did. 

Lucy Swing is a very good author and for this being the first full-length novel she has written, she has done very well indeed. I was only about quarter of the way through and I was already hoping that there would be more books in this series. She says maybe a trilogy or a saga. I say 'Yes please'. 
The characters were likeable, fun, not cardboard cut-outs with no personality (unlike some I could mention) Even the baddie was good. In the way that [ ] was written, I mean. 
There were times when I had a smile a mile wide on my face and times when I was sad. The worst of which [spoiler removed] when I cried my eyes out. I was just inconsolable.

Thank you to Lucy for letting me be one of the first to read this awesome book. Thank you for introducing me to a new world with entertaining new characters. 


To purchase FEATHERMORE for yourself, click one of the following links:




To WIN a copy of FEATHERMORE in paperback AND a necklace (US ONLY!) fill in the form below:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...