Friday, 20 February 2015

*Release Day Blitz* THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY by M.B Feeney!

IMG_2394
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Content Warning: Sexual situations and bad language.
Cover designer: Grafix Momma ~ Editor: Sydney Kalnay & R. E. Hargrave
23153975
IMG_2397
There’s something about that one person we date in our teens but never become intimate with. Why does a sexless relationship render us unable to stop carrying that person, the what if, with us into our adult life?
For Heidi Johnson, Shane Hughes is her “one that got away.” Through the years, he has stayed in the back of her mind while she became an adult, a mother, and her own person. Meanwhile, Shane has lived a life of regret that he let Heidi go for the wrong reasons: fear and a misguided sense of not wanting to hurt either of them. When they reconnect online, the memories they've tried to suppress over the years return, reigniting the feelings never explored ‘back in the day.’ Will a school reunion in their home town of London, surrounded by old school friends, help the pair address the questions the years apart left unanswered? Or will they still be left with wanting more?
IMG_2399
For almost half an hour I sat at an abandoned table by the wall, smoking my cigarettes one after the other. Apart from a few voices filtering out through the open doors, I sat in complete silence. Not one other person came out, but I could hear voices. It seemed most of the smokers were outside the front, leaving me to feel like I was the only smoker in the building.
Leaning back against the wall, I let the soft breeze play over my flushed face and was savouring a bit of peace and quiet when I looked at my watch and jumped. I hadn’t realised that it was so late—time certainly does fly when you’re having fun. Which I had been having, before the need to escape into the dark overtook me. Crushing out my cigarette in the huge metal ashtray, I stood to go back inside. I stalled when I caught sight of Shane making his way through the crowded downstairs room of the pub, walking in the direction of the beer garden. Towards me. Crumpling back down onto the seat, I lit another cigarette, my hand shaking from nerves, and . . . something else. It was okay sitting close to him in a crowded room surrounded by people, but the garden was deserted and dark. He spotted me pretty quick thanks to the glowing orange tip of my lit cigarette.
“Nice spot.” He pointed to the overhanging branches of ivy that partially hid the table. Without speaking further, he sat down next to me and took my face between his warm, strong hands. All I could see were his beautiful eyes locking on me—right before his lips crashed into mine.
Add-to-Goodreads

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

IMG_2396
6578767M. B. Feeney is an army brat who finally settled down in Birmingham, UK with her other half, two kids and a dog. Currently at university studying for her BA (Hons) in primary teaching, she procrastinates on her assignments by listening to music of all genres and trying to get ‘just one more paragraph’ written on whichever WIP is open. She is also a serious doodler and chocoholic. Writing has been her one true love ever since she could spell, and publishing is the final culmination of her hard work and ambition.
Her publishing career began with two novellas, and she currently has multiple projects under way whilst Honour, a compilation of her own military based shorts, was released in November 2013. Always having something on the go can often lead to block which eventually gets dissolved by good music and an even better book. Her main reason for writing is to not only give her readers enjoyment, but also to create a story and characters that stay with readers long after the book is finished, and possibly make someone stop and think “what if...”

Join M. B. Feeney's Street Team

10565130_742844889105333_5649546902760197226_n
click on picture to express interest
IMG_2398

IMG_2395

Thursday, 19 February 2015

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


My name is Keren. I am 31 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I generally like to read NA/YA but can also be found to read Adult Fiction and the occasional erotica. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.



Welcome To My Stop On The LOYALTY AND LIES Blog Tour


Title: LOYALTY AND LIES
Author: L.A Cotton
Publication Date: 30th January 2015
Source: eARC provided by author for blog tour

"Eighteen-year-old Savanah Parry just moved three thousand miles across state to escape. The memories…the whispers…the pain. 

Chastity Falls Academy is supposed to be her fresh start; her salvation. And when Ana meets mysterious Jackson, she begins to think it is. She hasn’t smiled in almost sixteen months; not since the night her life changed forever, and despite her guilt…her loyalty, Ana can’t deny that Jackson is breathing life back into her. With Jackson by her side, Ana wants to believe she can heal and move on. But she isn’t the only one living a lie, and the small private Academy has secrets of its own. All is not what it seems, and Ana is about to find herself in a tangled web of lies; fighting for survival, again. 

Loyalties will be tested, lies will be told. Welcome to Chastity Falls."

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

When I was asked to participate in this blog tour, I jumped at the chance. I have to be honest, I was so consumed with this book that I would lose chunks of time. It sucked me in from the first word and left me on tenterhooks waiting for the next book, I needed it right there and then. Ana was such an easy character to love and don't even get me started on Jackson *swoon* The two come from complete opposite backgrounds and it's very true what they say about opposites attract. They make the perfect couple. Nothing goes right for them but they are such a strong couple that they battle anything life throw at them. Ana doesn't realise just how strong she is and it endeared her to me even more. 
The way this book flowed was truly brilliant. It was fast paced and a true page turner, I could barely put it down. When I wasn't reading it, I was thinking about it. I cannot wait for the second book now and I truly hope that it is as stunning as this one. This is the first book of Lianne's that I have read, but it certainly won't be the last. Why? Because she is a very clever author. She leaves you guessing and begging for more. I love how this book wasn't predictable, it had twists and turns that you didn't see coming. 
I love reading because it takes me to a different world and the world that Lianne has created is one I could gladly live in forever. If you want a book to fall in love with, I strongly suggest you read Loyalty and Lies. 
Thank you Lianne for the ARC. Congratulations on an amazing novel. I can't wait for the next part of Ana and Jackson's journey. 



Friday, 30 January 2015

Loyalty & Lies Release Day Blitz

Loyalty and Lies Release Day

Release Day Blitz

hardcoverstack_621x739

Book Title: Loyalty and Lies (Chastity Falls #1) 
Author: LA Cotton 
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance 
Release Date: January 2015
Goodreads Button with Shadow
Book Blurb
Eighteen-year-old Savanah Parry just moved three thousand miles across state to escape. The memories…the whispers…the pain.
Chastity Falls Academy is supposed to be her fresh start; her salvation. And when Ana meets mysterious Jackson, she begins to think it is. She hasn’t smiled in almost sixteen months; not since the night her life changed forever, and despite her guilt…her loyalty, Ana can’t deny that Jackson is breathing life back into her. With Jackson by her side, Ana wants to believe she can heal and move on. But she isn’t the only one living a lie, and the small private Academy has secrets of its own. All is not what it seems, and Ana is about to find herself in a tangled web of lies; fighting for survival, again.
Loyalties will be tested, lies will be told. Welcome to Chastity Falls.
excerpt
Gardner's class was nothing compared to the torture of sitting so close to Jackson in Shakespeare. After his warning to stay away from him, I thought he might pick an alternative seat, but that didn't happen. Instead, he brushed straight passed me, dropped into his usual chair and acted as if nothing had happened. I had to fight back the urge to ask him why he had told me to stay away from me. I mean, it wasn't like we hung out. There had been coffee at the shifty sea front hut…once, and then the embarrassing sprained-ankle-in-the-storm incident. “Today, class, I want us to look at the character Iago…” Professor Shacks’ voice echoed around the small room. “Iago is the voice whispering in Othello’s ear, playing to Othello’s own paranoia and insecurities around his relationship with Desdemona. Of course, Othello trusts Iago implicitly, why wouldn’t he trust his long serving friend and lieutenant? A fact that Iago uses to his own advantage…” Jackson shuffled next to me, and then quickly dropped a white note onto my desk. What now? I sighed, feeling frustrated at his mixed signals. How’s the ankle? Okay thanks I balled up the note and tossed it onto his desk, watching him through the corner of my eye. A slight smirk played on his lips, and it was obvious he was aware I was pissed at him. He started scribbling a reply, which landed in front of me seconds later. I’ve heard coffee (or a banana shake) can work wonders for a sprained ankle… healing properties or something. I scowled at his slightly scruffy handwriting wondering what game he was trying to play with me. Thanks. I’ll make sure I have a banana shake before bed Feeling pleased with myself, I held out the note for him and he plucked it out of my hand, silently laughing when his eyes scanned the words. How about a shake before bed… with me? My eyes blinked. And blinked again, feeling the heat of embarrassment wash over my face. Was he flirting with me? I felt thirteen all over again. Mikey Crand used to send me love notes in Biology and me and my friend Lacey would giggle over them. Feeling brave, I handed him my reply. Are you inviting me for a shake? Or to bed? Jackson’s eyes widened and he shuffled slightly in his seat. Take that mister confusing, I thought, pleased with myself. Are you saying yes? I inwardly groaned. Jackson: one, Ana: zero. I couldn’t keep this up without drifting into territory that terrified me. Jackson was the first guy—the only guy—that made me smile… made my stomach flutter… made me feel anything since Danny. It wasn’t the plan, not what I ran to CFA to find, but somehow I had found it. Found something—someone—that made me feel again. Was that enough to try and get to the bottom of whatever was going on with Jackson? Of why he had warned me to stay away? To the shake… maybe Meet me round back five minutes after class I was heading for a one-way trip into purgatory, because as I discreetly watched Jackson out the corner of my eye I knew. Knew there would be no way I could walk away. Right or wrong, sensible or stupid, he had awoken a part of me that I thought I would never find again…and I couldn’t just give that up. Not for all the warnings in the world.
~
Ninety-minutes later, I was sitting in Black’s suffering some kind of post-Jackson whiplash. “I’m surprised you asked me for coffee again.” I slurped up the thick banana shake. Jackson watched me, his eyes were more the color of the bluey-green ocean today, than their usual shade. “Actually, I invited you for a shake.” He quipped back. I tried broaching the subject during the ride to Black’s, but he just shrugged me off, talking about the weather. The freaking weather. I was done with his evasion techniques. “After you warned me to stay away from you the other night?” He placed his mug back on its plate and sighed. I watched, captivated, as he ran his hand through his messy dark hair, the longer strands falling back into place, a five ‘o’clock shadow cloaking his jaw. “About that… I may have been a little hasty.” “Hasty?” “See the thing is…” His eyes held mine, smoldering at me, pleading with me. “I’m not sure I can stay away from you.” My lips moved to say something but nothing came out. Jackson watched me intently and I gulped. It felt like he was willing me to agree, to accept that there was a reason we should stay away from each other, but to ignore it. And I got the feeling it was a no questions asked kind of arrangement. “It’d be better for you… for us, if you stay away from me, Ana. But I don’t want you to. I’m too selfish to walk away.” “But-” Jackson cut me off. “No questions. That’s the deal. We spend time together, get to know each other, but you can’t ask any of the questions I know you have swimming round in that pretty little head of yours.” “Okay, but-” His hand found mine across the booth, and his fingers grazed my knuckles. “No questions. That’s just the way it has to be for now.” I nodded. Unsure what I was agreeing to. “You won’t regret it Ana Parry, I promise.”
Teasers

LandL_promocard1-sml

LandL_promocard2-sml

Teaser for release 2
Teaser for release 3

Teaser for release

Book Trailer


playlist
Meet the Author

Author Pic
Author of NA Contemporary Romance, L. A. Cotton loves writing about those first looks, first kisses, and happily ever afters. A wearer-of-many-hats, L.A juggles being a full-time mum to two little people with two part-time jobs and college. In her spare time (and when she’s not camped out in front of the laptop) you’ll most likely find her immersed in a book, escaping the chaos that is life. LA has two books currently self-published: Fate's Love and Love's Spark. Loyalty and Lies, is book one in her NA college series: Chastity Falls. You can connect with her at: www.lacotton.com www.facebook.com/authorlacotton www.twitter.com/authorlacotton www.amazon.com/author/lacotton
Social Media

websitetwitterFacebookpinterestGoodreads

Buy the Book
hardcoverstack_621x739
amazon usamazon UKB&Nkobo
Giveaway
promotionsbutton with TRIM


Monday, 29 December 2014

Review of ANDROMEDA by Amy Bartelloni


Title: ANDROMEDA
Author: Amy Bartelloni
Publication Date: May 6th 2014

Ten years after a pandemic swept the globe, survivors were forced into factions and camps in order to survive.

Jade and Sera are two orphans who have found refuge in a government camp. It's there where Jade falls in love with a young soldier, Anyon. But Anyon has his own secrets, carefully guarding a past that involves Sera. Before Jade and Anyon admit their feelings to each other the camp is attacked and they're separated.

Jade knows to lead Sera to Albany, the last free camp in the east, but the road is dangerous.

Not only must they dodge pockets of infection, but they're threatened by drifters and gangs. When they arrive in Albany, they find it deserted.

Anyon and his friend Malachi are close on their heels, but not close enough. The Provisional Government is on a mission, and no one is quite prepared for what lies ahead.

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

As a blogger for the last 3 years, my favourite genre became Dystopia. So, when I was asked by Amy Bartelloni to review the second book in this series, Orion's Curse, I jumped at the chance. I decided to download Andromeda from Amazon, as I was told I could read book 2 without reading book 1, but I would really rather start and finish a whole series properly. 

If you are a fan of the Divergent series, Hunger Games and The Immortal Rules, then Andromeda is for you.

What I liked: 
The relationship between Jade and Sera. They may not be blood related, but they are as close as any sisters would be. They look out for each other in this frightening new world where others would turn on each other at the drop of a hat. 
The bond between Jade and Anyon.  They are the cutest couple that aren't a proper couple and the word cute doesn't belong in their world, but still, they are adorable. 
The friendship between Anyon and Malachi. It's amazing how in this new world people can find and form friendships. These two have been through it together and come out the other side. Trusted to look out for Sera, Anyon is level-headed, strong-willed and perseverance should be his middle name. He is one of the few decent people left. Malachi closely resembles those same character traits and it's good to see that even after The Provisional Government took over, that kind, decent people can still be found. 

What I disliked: It doesn't have to be said, but I'll say it all the same; I absolutely hated The Provisional Government and what they have done since they took control. Mostly, I hate President Vise. He's a despicable, deplorable human being - that's a loose term too cos he's not fit t be called a human being. He's cold, unemotional, sick and twisted and he seems to have a God-like complex. 

This was one of the best YA stories that I have read recently. I've been on more of an NA Contemporary Romance binge. I've tried and failed to read several YA books that just haven't held my attention. But Andromeda sucked me in and held my attention captive until I was finished. I was up until after 2am two consecutive nights so that I could finish it off. I finally put the book down at 2:41am today, not realising how late it was because I had lost another chunk of time to reading this book. 
The writing flowed well and for me, the story was without flaw. Amy Bartelloni weaves a totally believable story that I could see our world being like if it were ever to be overturned and run into the ground by those that demand authority. Amy writes strong characters that you can have a tangible relationship with. She builds up your empathy and compassion for those that this world would sooner see destroyed. I have always loved a story where the underdog saves the day, and this is one of those situations where I truly hope the underdog will come out on top. 

If you are after something gritty to sink your teeth into and you enjoy a good YA Dystopian read, then please, pick up a copy of Andromeda. 

AMAZON UK - free at time of posting
AMAZON US - also free at time of posting



Saturday, 13 December 2014

Welcome To My Stop On The Blog Tour For Karen Rock's "A LEAGUE OF HER OWN" ! We Also Have A Great Giveaway, Don't Miss Out!!

A League of Her Own tour banner

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for A League of Her Own by Karen Rock. This blog tour is organized by Lola's Blog Tours. The blog tour runs from 1 till 14 December, you can view the complete tour schedule on the website of Lola’s Blog Tours.

A League of Her Own Title: A League of Her Own
Author:  Karen Rock
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Category: Adult
Release Date: 1 December, 2014

Blurb:
He was attractive, talented…and way off limits.

Heather Gadway may have been a world-class college pitcher and a top university coach, but she's a rank amateur when it comes to managing the Falcons, her father's struggling minor league team. And when it comes to managing her aggravating attraction to Garrett Wolf, their talented new pitcher. It's going to be difficult enough to make it as the first female manager in the league and prove to her overly critical father she's worthy. No distractions. No missteps. And certainly no romances with players. Everything stands between them—including their troubled pasts—even as Heather's world falls apart and Garrett's the one who's there to catch her…
My Review: 

Many people say the first thing that attracts them to a book is the cover. Others say it's the blurb. In many cases, I would be the first to agree, but this time was different. What attracted me to A League of Her Own was the author, Karen Rock. She is an absolutely amazing author. I want to read anything she writes. I'd even read her shopping list!  Over the last 3 years that I have been a blogger, I have been lucky enough to read many of Karen's novels and we have become good friends during this time. I affectionately named her Wonder Woman - this woman can do anything she sets her heart and mind to.

I'll admit now, I am  not much of a sport fan. Any sports on TV bore the pants off me, I am the first to switch the channel. But this book drew me in so much that I found myself feeling like a baseball fan. 
From the first word to the last, I was fully immersed in this amazing story. From the first time I met Garrett Wolf, I was hooked. The age old question is, do you believe in love at first sight- well, from the second Wolf came on the page, I was in love. I'm talking full-on insta-love, butterflies in my tummy, pulse racing, having to turn the pages faster so that I could discover more about him. Of course, Wolf isn't the only character to love, they are all brilliant in their own ways and all contribute to the story in some way, be it big or small. 
Now, I'm not here to tell you what happens in the story, that's for you to discover for yourself - you must make your own journey through the pages, but I can tell you how it made me feel. 
Karen Rock has gone and done it again. she's written yet another superb novel that drags you under, has you rooting for the underdog and brings tears to your eyes on more than one occasion. 
This story had me on the edge of my seat several times. There were several times that I assumed I knew where it was going, only to be proved wrong. And I love how Karen does that. She makes you think one thing and then all of a sudden BAM! the story goes in a completely different direction. 

As an author myself, I am in awe of Karen Rock. She is quite simply put, one of my favourite authors EVER! She is someone I look up to and aspire to be like. If I could be one-millionth the author that she is, I would be one happy lady. 
As a reader, she gives me stories to fall in love with, time and time again. As an author she gives me something in the way of a challenge. She makes me look at my own work and strive to become a better author. Karen Rock is an idol, a role model, a superstar! (Yes, I might have a bit of a girl-crush on her LOL).

A League of Her Own really is in a league of its own. It's a beautifully written novel with one-of-a-kind characters that will have you laughing, crying, and in some parts, like me, you may want to dive into the book and give someone a good shake to make them see sense. 
Forget book-boyfriends, get set to meet your book-husband - but beware, he's already been claimed, by me! 

Thank you to Lola's Blog Tours for allowing me early access to an ARC of this inspiring novel. 
Thank you Karen, firstly for being my Wonder Woman, and secondly for creating yet another world for me to be sucked into - let it be known, I never wanted to leave. 

Click the link to add A League of Her Own to your TBR on Goodreads.

You can buy A League of Her Own here:
- Amazon (Kindle)
- Barnes & Noble
- Kobo
- eHarlequin

Karen RockAbout the Author:
Karen Rock is an award-winning YA and Adult Contemporary Romance author. She holds a master’s degree in English and worked as an ELA instructor before becoming a full-time writer. Currently she writes for Harlequin Heartwarming and her first novel for the line, WISH ME TOMORROW, has won the 2014 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, the 2014 Golden Quill Contest and a finalist in the Published Maggie Awards. The first novel in her co-authored YA series, CAMP BOYFRIEND, has been a finalist in the Booksellers Best and Golden Leaf awards.

Karen loves nothing more than to connect with her fans, so you can find her here:
- Website
- Facebook
- Twitter
- Goodreads
- Tumblr
- Quarterly Newsletter

There is a tour wide giveaway for the blog tour of A League of Her Own. These are the prizes you can win:
- A 100 dollar Amazon gift card (INT)
- A set of signed paperbacks of Wish Me Tomorrow, His Hometown Girl, Someone Like You and A League of Her Own (US only)

A League of Her Own Blog Tour Grand Prize


For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thank you all for dropping by. I hope to see you all again soon!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...